November 7, 2012

  • I want the credit!!!!

    Mamaroo has sent me two messages asking for my permission to use a post on their front page. I have responded* to each message with this:

     

    I will give you my permission under two conditions: 

    1. The post is 100% unedited 
    2. There is a PROMINENT link-back to my original post in a larger type-case than the body content written exactly like this: 

    “Original author: Justfinethanku. Here’s the LINK for the original post.

     


    Am I being unreasonable? 

     

    *note they still haven’t gotten back to me. 

Comments (8)

  • I don’t think so. I think that’s a proper thing to do.

  • Not in the slightest! Healthkicker contacted me and I agreed. I assumed they were going to give me credit for it but my name was no where on there or anything. They also edited it. I don’t understand why they would ask for a post if they want to edit it. That is your post and you should have terms before someone posts it!

  • Usually when they (or any of the ish sites) feature something I’ve written, they show me as the author along with a box that links back to my site and they only edit out the profanity (which, I admit, can be extensive in some of my entries.  Not sure why they want to post those but…whatever).  But, dude, it’s your intellectual property.  Let them post it, give them conditions, don’t let them post it, tell them to kiss your ass, whatever.  It’s your property, whatever conditions you put on its use are entirely up to you, “reasonable” or not.  They have no rights to it.

  • I’ve had the same experience as @blonde_apocalypse, but yeah, your conditions are entirely reasonable.

  • I don’t think your conditions are unreasonable.  You wrote the entry the way you intended it to be, for a reason.

  • I let them post one of mine, and they edited it like crazy. The next time I simply said no…and told them why I was saying no.

    I have never heard from them again.

  • See, they want to recreate what you wrote (ala Bricker59) but that isn’t what you want. If they don’t follow your conditions, then POOH on them!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *