July 28, 2012

  • Let’s talk about Child Molesters.

     

    Anytime someone say’s they are doing something “for the children” you’d better watch your back because your about to be manipulated. That is why I have a hard time believing that anything the NCAA did to Penn State, aside from the 60 million dollar penalty going to charity, is going to help the children involved in this scandal.

    I find it especially hard to believe that the fans, players and even the school should be punished by a bunch of bleeding heart idiots who aren’t sure how to EVER place the blame on the correct people. All over the internet, on radio talk shows across the country and in the letters to the editor section, people are spouting off their insane and mildly retarded mantra. Their battle cry being “your taking the focus off of these kids! how dare you!” 

    Funny how these are the same people who where plunking down money to stop the “army of children in Uganda“, that a simple google search could have discredited.

    I’m going to go ahead and say it though: it sucks to be a Penn State fan right now. It sucks to be one of the students at Penn State University, and it REALLY sucks to be one of the players on the Penn State football team who’s career is hanging in the balance over something you had nothing to do with. It sucks to be one of the former players who had your wins stripped away from you to serve the purpose of a group of headhunters who just want to look like they are doing something important. 

    GASP!! HOW DARE YOU IGNORE THE CHILDREN!

    You care about the children?? Bullshit. You care about drama. If you care so much about these children, why aren’t you donating money to the charities to help them, can you even name one? Why aren’t you adopting them into a good home? What have you done to stand up and protect them aside from whine about completely unrelated crap online. 

    On to another thought, what is it about the current Penn State that warrants this kind of action? EVERY person involved in the abuse and later, the coverup is either dead, in jail, or heading to jail for the rest of their lives. But the University is being punished. This bears repeating: EVERY PERSON INVOLVED IS EITHER DEAD, IN JAIL OR GOING TO JAIL FOR THE REST OF THEIR LIVES. But we are punishing the University. W.T.F???????

    Here’s an analogy that works;

    A guy goes into a grocery store, his buddy is at the register and lets him leave the store without paying. They get caught, arrested and end up doing community service and paying some fines. The grocery store also gets a fine and is banned from selling groceries.

    Really? would that be fair or even logical? Absolutely not. 

    “We are still Penn State” is going to be the motto for a group of young adults who want to spend their college years focused on learning, growing and having fun in school before they head out into the real world. Instead they are being punished for something they had nothing to do with. Something they weren’t even aware of. They care about the kids that were abused, but no one can focus on negative crap like that for the rest of their lives just to appease internet trolls who want them to wear sack cloth and ashes. 

     

    **I can’t wait for the comments about Kony to roll in… haha. winning.**

Comments (36)

  • People are so wrapped up in the social events of the issue, not in the implications of what has happened and the ripple effect it will have.

  • I don’t agree with having the wins stripped, but I think NCAA is trying to finally do something about the “college sports is more imporant that anything in the world” attitude that goes on all over the country. The players have been told they can transfer and not lose their scholarships, so it’s not like their careers have been ruined. If losing bowl money is a big deal, don’t worry, there are plenty of mega rich alumni who will come to their aid. I think there’s too much hair pulling and chest beating being done.

  • It’s another instance of an institution being seen as guilty instead of the individual perpetrators. I don’t know why this attitude/assumption is so comforting to the general public. Perhaps we don’t want to believe that ordinary men and women do terrible things, or that an institution can’t control individuals. 

    I’m not a football fan, but that does seem unfair. 

  • EXACTLY!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • You must be Catholic.

  • @tendollar4ways - What? Oh, I see, lol. You’re comparing a religious organization that gets away with covering up and hiding child molesters to a school who is doing everything it can to get rid of and prosecute those who were involved. 

    It’s also obvious you didn’t read the post. 

  • The correct people must be held accountable. Vwhat is with our society and misplaced blame?

  • @justfinethanku - Actually, I read the post and, while I don’t entirely agree, I think that tendollar4ways has a point. The only people who we KNOW were DIRECTLY involved are being punished, but there’s no way that all this abuse and the knowledge of it over all these years was limited to a mere handful of people.

  • But I thought we got Kony with all those viral videos

  • Penn State Football revenues were 73 million and expenses were 18 million in 2011. Thats 53 million profit. How many years did this shit go on? 500 to 600 million is alot of jack and Penn 60 million was kinda getting off easy if ya ask me. LOL,  Drama Queen?   “the players careers hang in the balance” . Players are free to transfer and won’t have to sit out the usual 1 year so the good players aren’t effected. The not so good players will get a chance to actually play (get crushed but play nonetheless) so spare me Ru Paul.

    The Fans? Pick another team to root for….one where they Athletic Dept doesn’t protect child molesters. Same thing I tell Catholics.

  • @tendollar4ways - Cool story. Just tell me, out of all the people the NCAA punished, who was involved? 

  • I see you like the Abu Graibe Defense.

  • The legal system will take care of the people directly involved. The NCAA punished Penn State Football for the actions of those who administered the program.

  • @tendollar4ways - So you agree with the premise of my post, absolutely no one who was involved was punished by the NCAA? 

  • @justfinethanku - I understand your arguement but I don’t accept it. When you are part of an organization or program sometimes things that happen to the organization have nothing at all to do with what you did or didn’t do. Just how it goes.

  • Yeah, this punishment shows that Penn State is being used as an example.  It’s football, so what?  So, some fans and players will cry about wins being wiped out, so what?  I’d rather my team lost wins, when those wins were won because an entire football program kept on a man who stuck his penis in children’s buttholes.  Which is really more important here?  Letting the victims know their misery is finally being accounted for or not letting a bunch of football fans cry over football.

    While I agree this year’s team and future teams shouldn’t be punished, the point is to make Penn State an example that people should come first, not football games.  I am Republican, so I firmly believe in personal responsibility and this is what that entails… saying my team won because the team kept on a football coach who abused children, is taking responsibility for what really happened.  Although, I admit I don’t know what years exactly Sandusky coached and didn’t coach, the expunging of the record should only reflect the seasons he coached even one game. 

  • The names of the children were kept secret, so your point about giving them money or adopting them is ridiculous.

    “Dead, in jail, or on their way to jail”…good.Me, I’d give them all the death penalty.

    My question is, how long did the administration know before they did anything?

  • @Bricker59 - Children in general. 

  • @whyzat - NCAA shouldn’t have to strip the wins…Pens State should volunteer to do that.
    That school got no honor…it’s all about student athletes.
    My black ass actually earned my degree, I hate student athletes and they free degreees.

  • good post.  every person who has ever been affiliated with penn state is being judged and found guilty.
    yes, the ncaa is making an example of the cult of football, but we are an entire society that calls people who play games for money “heroes”.  and the bad behavior associated with sports did not start at the college level.
    i think if we ever find the whole truth, it will be made clear that there were much higher people than the coach and the president of the university who knew about it and covered up.

  • Do I dare admit that I got caught up in the Kony sh*t? I truly thank you for enlightening me.  I did NOT donate to him thankfully, but I do have a daughter somewhere in Africa through World Vision. 
    It’s disheartening that the wrong people are feeling consequences.  I’m sure there are people who knew and did nothing and are not being punished.  I wish we lived in a more utopian society. I AM Catholic.  I can separate my faith from the human element that is my religion.  I don’t know why we can’t separate the human element from the institution. The fact is that people with deviant personalities search out situations that they’ll be able to perpetrate their crimes.  People need to stand up to the predators and stop putting money before what’s right.  Their actions are just as criminal.  The problem lies from proving who knew what.  God will take care em in the end. 

  • @promisesunshine - If earning a degree without cheating and not covering up child molestation is wrong, I’ll be wrong all day.  And I’ll look good being wrong.

  • @Mockdonimus_Tuntsweet - i don’t think even the ncaa accused the players of covering up

  • I’m a Hurricane fan.  The U has taken it on the chin, too (not once but a couple of times.).  Players who weren’t involved barred from bowls, scholarships limited, etc etc.  We all scream bloody murder when it happens to us, but when it happens to others, it’s like “they deserved it.”

  • @promisesunshine - I mean, I guess I could care less about the kids getting molested, like, you take me at age 5 and I ain’t goin in the damn showers with no old dude…but I digress.  This just all brings up student athletes, especially football.  And I had to sit in English LIt class while those asshole disrespected the class and the teacher knowing full well just because they can catch a damn ball they get a free pass through school and a degree they didn’t work for.

    That’s really what I’m bitter about I guess….not really hatin on Penn State.  I love Pennsylvania.  I’m a damn Penguins fan till I die.

    Fuckin student athletes though, that shit riles me.

  • The heads of the school and football programmes harboured and enabled a child molester/rapist. Cut and dry. Glad the school got the axe. Perhaps people will think twice about letting this shit fly again. Perhaps not. 

  • PSU’s entire football program was looking at the death penalty for four years. At least this way the kids still get to play.

  • The Football program shouldn’t be a topic of discussion in this situation, and that’s why it shouldn’t be a topic of discussion in this situation. What I mean is, how in the world does stripping away wins, etc., do ANYTHING for the children that were victimized? It doesn’t do a damn thing. Which is why it shouldn’t have happened, and if it hadn’t happened, it wouldn’t be a topic of discussion in this situation, since it has no place in this discussion.

    Circular logic? Hard to follow? Perhaps. I guess I’m just saying it pisses me off that people are making a connection here. Children were violated and victimized, and the people responsible for that, and justice being done to them is all that should be on the plate here.

    To be more blunt, f*ck the Penn State football program, it’s not what’s important here.

  • @IntoTheWind1 - i think that’s the point of this whole post.  the ncaa sanctions are punishment and not serving the efforts of stopping child molestation and that we’ve made football the focus instead of the kids. 

    @Mockdonimus_Tuntsweet - i never had any classes with football players, i guess.  but i’ve certainly seen the swagger that comes from being able to catch a ball and run.  our experiences give us different perspectives.  that’s a general “our” and “us” not a specific “our” and “us”.

  • “Doing something for the children.” could be less threatening than that.

    But it could also mean a guilty heart, or a ways or means of winning the hearts of other parents for some kind of poll.

    Unless it’s a Mother who has had kids, yes, I agree, JFTU, there might be something sinister or guilt-driven behind it.

    You gonna finish that cup of coffee ?

  • The football players who won those games are being punished for something their coach, (whom I assume they have no say in who that is, correct?) did. That doesn’t seem fair to those guys. AND I HATE football.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *