July 27, 2012

  • My Comment section is full of bridge-dwellers

     

    I’ve never walked into someones house and started mouthing off at them. I can’t remember a time when I thought it was OK to call someone a name while on their property. It’s not right and it’s disrespectful, deserved or not. 

    Don’t get me wrong, I still have conversations and disagree with people, but I just don’t raise my voice or act like a fool. I use this little thing called “tact” and I don’t try to start a fight or a shouting match. I aim to have a good conversation or even a debate but I don’t care to argue. Its just rude to argue with someone at their house. 

     

    Now, I can’t really compare a blog to a house. I don’t live here and I don’t have to be here all the time. It’s more my “bully pulpit” so-to-speak. This is my space to write, argue, vent, discuss etc… And it’s especially cool because what I write is the main focus. The comments are there to discuss the topic at hand, but my writing is the centerpiece. You don’t get to come here without having my thoughts front-and-center on your screen. It’s pretty cool. 

     

    But there are a few people who try and take over the comment section by doing things like:

    1. Reading the title of a post and MAYBE the first few lines and commenting without reading the content. 
    -Do any of you have ANY idea how annoying that is? Read some of  the comments on THIS post where I’m being told I’m a Romney supporter.

    2. Writing a comment longer than the original post.
    -If your comment is longer than the original post, you may have to re-evaluate what you wanted to say in the first place and decide if it’s something you should put up as a blog of your own. Take a look at the comment section HERE and you will see some INSANELY long comments. 

    3. responding to EVERYONE who has commented.
    -I can understand getting involved with the discussion, but this isn’t your time to start a fight with other people either. It’s OK for the OP to respond to everyone, borderline rude for someone else to start doing it. It’s not your place, not your blog. 

    4. Putting words in your mouth.
    -This was one thing Diva was great at, drawing conclusions about someone based on something they didn’t even say or imply and then forcing them to defend themselves against it.

    5. *By @waitingtoshrug Being convinced that “winning” means “keep going until the other person is completely frustrated and quits”.

     

     

    All I’m trying to say is, when you visit my blog, or anyone else’s blog PLEASE be polite. 

     

    Feel free to add to this list and I’ll update the main blog. 

Comments (18)

  • I’ve written about this before: http://godlessliberal.xanga.com/764970988/the-ten-commandments-of-xanga-debate/

    Xanga’s being overrun by trolls. It’s why I’m slowly transitioning to WordPress.

  • I have a big problem with people doing number four. If they tell a lie, then i have to defend it and spill the truth. Old trick. I got into a lot of trouble due to some gold, so i decided to just explain and open up. They will not let us confess. Oh, another trick is to randomly call someone a liar to gain authority and discredit everything they say. I have problemsand nothing to hide.

  • What’s this got to do with living on a brigde? Oh. Nevermind!

    I agree. I’ll have a look at your link because I haven’t seen anything very unpleasant since you-know-who left.

  • This is true. People may also consider studying up on their colloquialisms and what they mean.

  • @GodlessLiberal - Maybe you could go from slow to fast.

  • You’re like Xanga: doing everything to chase people away.

    I’ll oblige. Goodbye. Farewell.

  • 5. Being convinced that “winning” means “keep going until the other person is completely frustrated and quits”. 

    6. Willfully misunderstanding the other person’s position. I guess this could fit with #4. 

  • @WaitingToShrug -  we all do number five to a degree. Sometimes, we have to agree to disagree. The immature people in my head dont get it. Sometimes, it takes time to catch everyone up. Youll understand when you are older, etc. I do not get much now.

  • Pretty good list. I’d edit WaitingToShrug’s #5 as being convinced that having the last word (i.e. last comment) means you’ve “won” the debate when the other person has just stopped responding because you’re too immature to actually carry on a discussion with.

    Also, isn’t it awesome how arrogant some people are in telling you what -you- believe?

  • i’m often guilty of posting long comments. i do so to show the rationale for what i’m saying. people often challenge me and it wouldn’t mean much for me to simply say to someone, you’re wrong and i’m right. i usually ignore Loborn in his latest incarnation but i don’t like leaving unfactual statements and nasty accusations dangling out there where young people and those who don’t have time to research issues might accept them as in any way valid. 

  • Follow the theme of the blog….check.

    Try to be complete and succinct….check.

    Some folks acknowledge everyone who writes….Check.

    Try hard to not “change” what was written……Check

    Point 5 is doing what the above point criticizes….IMHO

  • You have too many rules.  I guessed that from just reading the title.

  • “2. Writing a comment longer than the original post.”

    I hate hate hate that.

  • Now look what you’ve done – you’ve made Curtis leave! 

  • #5. GAH! The length of your argument does NOT outweigh the strength of mine!

    Also, bringing up an issue, and presuming my position on it in the same comment, before I’ve said a word about it.

  • :) Thanks for adding my point. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *