February 29, 2012

  • My MacBook Pro is teaching me the guitar.

     

    My new(ish) MacBook Pro

    About a week ago I decided that I was going to do something a little crazy. I posted on Craigslist that I was willing to trade my iPad 2 for a Macbook. I wasn’t expecting any responses to the listing so I didn’t get to excited over it. 

    Apparently a LOT of people were willing to make the trade! Within a few hours I had four people who were willing to trade their Macbooks for my iPad. The one person who stood out of the bunch said he had a MacBook Pro in pristine condition that he was willing to trade. Of course I accepted and a few hours later BOOM! I had a beautiful early 08′ model MacBook pro with 8GB of memory, a 500GB 7,200rpm hard drive. 

    Early 2008,” you ask, “isn’t that a little old for a laptop?” 

    Not in the world of Apple. The one manufacturer who produces laptops that re-sell for nearly full value used. These laptops are generally a couple of years ahead of PC’s when you buy them to begin with (I mean, this thing has 8GB of RAM, and it was built in 2008, you can’t get that in a PC laptop TODAY!)

    Getting on with it, I downloaded some of my favorite apps. Final Cut X, so I could do some serious movie editing. iWork, so I could make beautiful spreadsheets, word documents and even Keynote presentations if I wanted to, and finally, I downloaded the Microsoft Office suite so I could keep up with the Joneses. (I really have no idea how the suite would help me to those ends, but whatever.)

    A few days into it I discovered something absolutely amazing… my MacBook can teach me how to play the guitar!!!!!

    This guy goes through about 30 beginner lessons, all on video.

     

    You can select an artist to personally teach you one of their songs!

    Here is STING teaching me how to play “Roxanne!!!”

     

    Seriously though, this is pretty freaking cool!!!! 

    I can’t believe how awesome this computer is and I never thought I’d enjoy using a laptop this much! The thing has multiple virtual desktops (wich is super convenient for working on a few different projects at the same time without cluttering up your desktop) and best of all it automagically inserts every single photo I take on my iPhone onto my laptop without me having to do a thing and no matter where I am in proximity to the laptop!

     

    How awesome is the “command center??”

     

Comments (8)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *