June 7, 2013

  • My Plan: free Xanga for as many as possible. Read on!

     

    I’ll keep this simple:

    Not everyone can afford the yearly subscription of $48.00/year. 

    However, we have some SERIOUSLY talented folks on Xanga that could benefit greatly from Xanga 2.0

     

    Here’s the deal, donate what you can afford. One dollar, 10 dollars or whatever your comfortable with. 

    Every time the account hits $48.00 I will purchase another 1 year membership and hand it out to someone who wants it/needs it based on a lottery system. 

    Lottery system rules, simpleanyone who is interested in receiving a free year has their name LITERALLY put into a hat and pulled every time we hit $48.00

     

    As I mentioned in my other post I’m covering the first free membership, which is going to @my_final_username (enjoy!)

     

    Here’s the donation button:  

    Thanks guys! 
    ********$12.00 raised towards second 1yr membership as of 8:50 eastern time*****
    As always (lately) Please recommend this post and drop some comments! If you’d like to be considered for one Free year of Xanga let me know in the comments!
     
     

Comments (36)

  • Keep up the good work.

  • That’s great. I will most likely bring this up on my radio show sometime, if you don’t mind.

  • This is a great idea. I could probably pay for a year if it was monthly but all at once would be difficult for me.

  • I’m sorry, but how does this lottery system work?! hahaaha lol 

  • @mellywelly15 - anyone who is interested in receiving a free year has their name LITERALLY put into a hat and pulled every time we hit $48.00

  • That’s a great idea! 

  • @justfinethanku - In that case, kindly put my name down in this magical hat! haaahaThanks!

  • That’s so cute but I’m already moving. ^^ But this is a sweet idea.

  • So yeah… are you keeping records of the donor/amount so that you can refund their money if the goal isn’t reached, or will you just keep it?

    I need a new scope for my rifle. Maybe I’ll try this too.

  • @Ghillies_guide - haha, it all goes into a paypal account reserved for this. I’m making the bet that Xanga will succeed in raising the funds but if they don’t, yes, the money will be refunded. 

    Also, one of the cool things about PayPal is that has a lot of protection against fraud like your describing up to and including legal action against anyone who’s trying to scam people into donating money for, lets say, a rifle scope… 

  • Well if that’s how it’s going to be, I’ll just buy a pair of Ray Bans instead! Ha!

  • I am wondering how long you will do this?
    There would have to be a stopping point, and how many people still that should have a free membership by this system still not get one.
    Also there are still very good free sites out there, and how many are going option to pay 48 dollars a year when they can get a good site for free? Bro. Doc

  • I had one other thought that has not be addressed that I could.
    Why has not any of you, as Administers, IT people etc. offered to cut your salary and give it too help save Xanga?
    I have not seen this address. Bro. Doc

  • @BroDoc - The owner said he’s going to be working for free. Also, the features and technology that Xanga will be offering on the premium model are not available for free… anywhere. I do understand what you are getting at but you’ve really got to check out WordPress.org to fully understand it’s capabilities and the potential there. 

  • I wouldn’t want a year’s membership on the new site for free, just a month’s. Isn’t that what Xanga promised in the original system ? They give you a month’s worth of premium when you first sign up so you can see how you like it ?

    Yes, I’m bringing up all the little details Xanga wants to sweep under the rug now.

  • I already pay for a different blog. It’s great. I had an issue updating a few days back and emailed them at 3am then loaded some netflix to fall asleep to. I got an email back from them in 27 minutes… according to the times on gmail. I kind of wonder what their response time is during business hours…. And they only 21$ a year.

  • I paid for a LIFE TIME membership here on Xanga and now they want to charge MORE? Unfair. I have been here 8 years.

  • @Nancybratt - Nancy, I wanted to “recommend” your comment, but that’s the first time I’ve ever seen the popup declining recommendations. I was against recommending comments when Xanga first started doing it, until people started recommending some of mine.  In any case, I’m of the same mind as you. After nearly nine years of blogging on Xanga, I only post sporadically as it is, so $48.00 a year seems quite steep for me. (I pay $250.00 a year for my own domain/site hosting and haven’t updated my personal website since 2010, and since I link to my Xanga from my site, I didn’t have to. )

  •          Perhaps at the end you’ll purchase one open blog, and give it a name, then give passwords to everybody who asks?

  • Dear Justfine,

    I don’t know that we’ve ever had the pleasure of corresponding before. However, I’ve been recommending your posts lately, and following your take on “Xanga 2.0″ Kudos to you for your contributions to the “community” and your well reasoned responses and suggestions. I know Phil (@my_final_username) will enjoy his gift. He was one of the members of my Internet Island Group back when Blogrings were popular in the mid aughts. (2005-2008)Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • one free anything sounds great to me, thanks!

  • @slmret - these will be individual memberships for the owners to do as they please with. 

  • @baldmike2004 - those years you’d probably remember me as simply “Jonathan” I’ve been around since 01″ and love the community. I was angry at first but I see what they are trying to do and get it now. 

  • @justfinethanku - I think what you are trying to do is really nice and generous.  I wouldn’t mind having my name added to that magical hat. Thank you. I know I haven’t been here nearly as long as many others, but I came when I found out about it, which is when the other site I used closed off blogging. I had been there many years, made friends, even got to meet some in person eventually. I’d hoped to do the same here.

  • I don’t need to be added, but I think this is an awesome idea, and I will rec this post. :)

  • That’s very nice of you to do.

  • That sounds like a great idea, thank you so much for doing this!  I paid for lifetime, which  I now won’t get, but $48 is a bit much for my budget at this point in time.  I will come back tomorrow, when I can see well enough to type in all the blanks in the donation form, and make a donation.  Long live Xanga!

  • @justfinethanku - To be honest. I have checked out Word Press before I came here from Multiply, and I DON’T like it. It is not easy too use and doesn’t have some of things I do. This is why I came here.
    We will see how long people work for free. They have to pay bills and unless they lots of money already they can work for free long. Bro. Doc

  • @Nancybratt - at $25/yr, after 4 years you have been on xanga for “free” based on what was said by the xanga team.  i also bought life many years ago as it was a great deal. maybe too great.

  • A  ONE YEAR SUBSCRIPTION TO XANGA!  

    I’M IN BABY!!  COUNT ME IN!!

  • Great way to serve the community!

  • ,,,((( O people Say No God But Allah, Achieve Eternal Salvation )))

     ” Laa illaha illa lah .” (There is none worthy of worship except Allah.)

     ( I bear witness that there is none worthy of worship except Allah and I bear witness that Muhammad is His servant and messenger )

    ( Introduction to Islam )

    http://www.blogger.com/profile/00783655376697060967

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *